Tips On Making Healthier Choices

Posted: June 6, 2013 in My Take
Tags: , , , , ,

There comes a time when we realize we are out of shape or unhealthy. Or maybe we just want to be more active. Being out of shape is not just about how you look.  Rather than worry about how you look, you need to worry about other things like obesity, high blood pressure and diabetes.  No one likes to be unhealthy, and if you think its okay or its not a priority, you need to make it one, because you will be in for a rude awakening my friend. Maybe not in the next couple of months, but later on in life. The things you do or DONT do now, will affect your health later.Think

I am not a dietitian or personal trainer *yet*. But I will give you tips that helped me get into better shape and make better decisions.

  1. Keep a food journal. Don’t worry about what you eat just make sure you right it down and keep track of the calories on an online calorie counter.  After about one week look at what you ate. You will flabbergasted at how much food you ate. And how EASY you could have avoided it.
  2. Avoid store bought sugary drinks. These things are really bad for you. 7g of Sugar is a about 1 teaspoon. Go look at that bottle of soda you are drinking. . . Think about that.  I stopped drinking soda in High school and i lost 30 lbs while I was playing basketball. Amazing. If you want a juice or something sweet, eat fruit or start juicing fruits. But avoid sodas and store bought juices
  3. Baked or Boil your food. Try to avoid frying your food.  Want to eat some steak or a chicken breasts? Oven cook it instead.  I try my hardest to eat only oven baked food. I even eat bacon in the even once in a while.
  4. Portion your food. Pay attention to serving sizes. Learn to read Nutrition labels if you do not know already. I bought a food scale to measure how much I eat of meat and fruits and all that.  Now I can just look at a piece of steak and know how much is a serving.
  5. Drink water. And more water. Being hydrated is vital to a healthier way of living. Not only that but if you do not drink enough water, chances are you will be constipated. And no one likes that.
  6. Add veggies and fruits to what you eat. Pick a fruit you really like. I love bananas. So that is my go to fruit. I am guilty of not eating enough greens. But when I do, I go with spinach. Eating more fruits and veggies will also help you poop in combination with water. Nothing better than a good poop. At one point I was going 3-4 times a day.
  7. Be Active. If you like to ride bike or jog, do more of that. If you like to do aerobics, do some aerobic classes. Whatever it is you like to do, try to make it a bigger part of your life. Find an physical activity that you like and do MORE of it.  Don’t have time? Make time.

Setting Up a Food Routine

This is what I used to eat when I lost 20 lbs last summer. Try to find something that works for you.

Breakfast

  • 1/2 Cup Oatmeal
  • 2 Boiled Eggs
  • 1 Cup of Milk
  • Banana

Lunch (I am not a big lunch person)

  • Turkey Sandwich with whole grain bread.
  • Banana
  • Yogurt

Dinner

  • 1/2 cup of homemade rice.
  • 4-6 ounces of chicken/beef
  • Vegetables

Snacks

  • Cashews
  • Apples
  • Whole Grain Cereal (I like Kashi)
  • Grapes
  • Salads (home made)
  • Whey Protein Shake (This is what I would take since I was doing a lot of weight training)

Remember to consult a professional before starting any workout routine or diet.

Closing

Living a healthier lifestyle is not about starving yourself and jogging for 5 miles a day.  It about making better choices in kitchen and being just a little bit more active. Remember, living healthier is not a race. Making small changes can sometimes lead to big results.

Leave a Reply

