Hello All,

I recently, at the suggestion of my friend Dennis, decided to start doing Pull Ups and Dips. So I said, “why not? what is there to lose?” At first I thought however,”OMG what if I get weaker and lose strength?” But them I slapped myself with the realization that my numbers are not that impressive to begin with and how can doing MORE pull ups make me weaker anyway?

However, I was trying to figure out how to fit pull ups in to my routine, especially since I couldn’t do more than 2. So I asked myself,”What exercises could I eliminate in order to focus more on pull ups and dips?” The 2 exercises I HAD to keep were the Squat and the Deadlift. That left the Bench and the Overhead Barbell Press. So I eliminated both. I am sure someone might read this and say “BLASPHEMY!” and go on a rant about how the bench and press are vital to strength gains and blah blah blah. But guess what? I WANT TO DO MORE PULL UPS. Never the less. So my workout one day looked like this:

Squat
Deadlift
Pull Ups
Dips
Inverted Rows

I also replaced the OHP with Dumbbell Overhead press on other days. I have maintained my strength with regards to Squat and Deadlift. I also noticed my upper body physique changing for the better. Arms and shoulders got bigger, mid section was tighter, and of course I felt great and the workouts have been challenging. This is only after 4 weeks.

My hypothesis is as follows: I will still be able to bench press what I was doing before if not more.

The press IMO is the superior exercise. Now eventually I will go back to benching and pressing with a barbell. But for now, I like the results I am getting from what I am doing. And I felt a rest from pressing movements would do me some good.  In about 3 weeks, I will add in the Barbell Press, and stay that way for about 6 weeks,  then add the bench press after that.

I will also be updating this post at some time in the future.

M

Leave a Reply

