Active Rest Cycle Idea

Posted: January 14, 2014 in My Take
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Eureka!!!!

So I was trying to figure out how to transition between my 6 week cycles. So here is my idea…..2 week active rest of no weight training. The focus will be body weight exercises, mobility work and conditioning. Who knows, I might trash this whole thing, but here is the idea.

6 Week Cycle Ends…. 2 days rest then…

Workout
Wide Pull Ups
Dips
Chin Ups
Sit Ups
Push Ups
Agility Ladder
Jump Rope

This will be done 5 Days a week for 2 weeks. 3 days on, 1 day rest, then 2 days on. Mobility and Stretching will be done everyday.

Comments
  1. mhwang90 says:

    If this doesn’t work out, you should try to have 1-2 week of deloading in between your 6 week cycles. where you do the same lifts as previous weeks but with no more than 60% of your 1RM and focus on speed/technique

    • That is something i was thinking about. But im not that strong to begin with. Not yet anyway.

      • mhwang90 says:

        I think it would benefit you even more to do it then. More time spent underneath the barbell doing those lifts will definitely have carry over. Maybe deload 1st week then BW movements 2nd week?

      • maybe so. this is just an experiment really. but i have realized that the reason i train is for basic health purposes. i have actually lost weight and managed to maintain my strength. so i will see how far that goes. I am also learning to high bar squat. and so far, i am wondering why i never did before. this whole process is actually like one giant deload. And this past week was the first time in almost 3 months that I bench pressed.

      • i also do pull ups and dips 2x a week already. and i also play basketball at one of the rec centers. so during those 2 weeks, i will be able to focus more on my conditioning and weaknesses in my game. mind you I am not looking to go to the NBA or anything. but basketball has always helped me get to where I want to be in terms of health. so i am going to try and make it a bigger part of my training.

      • btw, your blog is awesome.

      • mhwang90 says:

        That sounds awesome man! I definitely believe playing a sport for recreation is a great way to stay well conditioned, especially a sport like basketball. Short bursts of high intensity is great. It’s great to hear that you’ve been losing weight and maintaining strength. What is your bodyweight goal? And thanks for the compliment, your blog has some great insight as well, I need to write articles more frequently though.

      • Im trying to get down to 170. Im at 178 now. Lost 22 ls so far. basketball and jump rope are my only cardio. Its all about nutrition. I try to post atleast twice a day. Keeps me on track.

Leave a Reply

