Why I’m Sick of Fitocracy

Posted: January 17, 2014 in My Take
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

So a couple of years ago when Fitocracy was in its infancy, I signed up. Actually I was invited by someone who was already a member. I thought it would be a cool way to meet people with similar goals and learn from people who have more experience. For the first year and a half was great. Many of my questions were answered and I met interesting characters and learned new techniques. It really helped me grow. And I learned how and where to get other health and fitness information. But then it took a turn for the worst.

I had enough when there were too many groups that were not fitness or health related. Groups that looked like something you would find on facebook. And the level of vanity and ego on the site in regards to groups that allow for half naked photos to be posted. Another thing I noticed was a lot of internet assholeness. Someone asks an innocent question or is new to a certain group. And they get chewed out by a variety of idiots in the group. Just answer a persons question if you know the answer. And for the most part there are too many Fitness Fundamentalists  on the site. Especially in groups that worship Mark Rippetoe, Starting Strength and Stronglifts.

These are the reasons why I stopped posting my workouts and for the most part posting comments on the site.  That is all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

