Hello All,

Alternating Rep Schemes: Mind you these are not to be applied for everyone. This is just how I rotate rep schemes for each type of training focus. Sets X Reps. This is just something I have found works for me.  Fitness Fundamentalist’s might say I am doing this all wrong. But, I could care less.  I do not do this verbatim, it all depends how I feel that day.

Strength: 1-5 Reps @ 75-90%
5×5 @ 75-80% – Bread and butter. A nice way to start
6×3 @ 80-85% – This has just been a rep scheme that has worked for me in the past.
5×1 @ 90% or more – pretty simple, just heavy singles

Reps: 8-15 reps @ 60-80%
5×8 @ 70-80%
3×10 @ 60-75%
2×12+ @60-70%

Technique: 2-4 Reps @ 40-60%
8-10 x 2-4 @ 40%-60%

I have not have too much experience with this. But I have been doing 4 sets of 40%, 3 of 50% and 3 of 60%. Something to that effect. These percentages are not exact. It is just something I use as a guide.

How I Use This

This would be the first workout of the week:

High Bar Squat – Strength ( I would choose 5×5, 6×3 or 5×1)
Press – Reps (I would chose 5×8, 3×10, or 2×15)
Deadlift – Speed/Technique (8-10 sets of 2-4 reps)

The Next workout would be like this:

High Bar Squat – Reps
Press – Speed
Deadlift – Strength

The workout after would be:

High Bar Squat – Speed/Technique
Press – Strength
Deadlift – Reps

I do not go heavy on Squat, Press and Deadlift on the same day. I might eventually do that, but only to test my maxes.

What I do is similar to Brandon Lilly’s Cube Method. Of course Lilly’s is much more detailed and designed for competitive powerlifters. What I do, is more practical and useful for me. I recommend anyone read it though. There is a lot of good information in here.  Cube Method I like the idea of rotating rep ranges and percentages, however, I do not use the Cube Method.

Closing

As you can see there is a lot of overlap in regards to reps/sets/percentages. This just what I use to guide me when changing up work outs.  It all depends on how I feel. Some days I might do 7 sets of 5 or 10 set of 3. It really all depends on how I feel and how much energy I have. I mean, sometimes I have only done 2 sets of 5.  I think anyone can benefit from working in different rep ranges. However which way you want to do it, it up to you.

Make it work. – Tim Gunn

That is all. 🙂

Comments
  1. […] of your 1 Rep max is an option. However, I will not cover that here. Check out my article, Rotating Rep Ranges , to see how I use […]

Leave a Reply

