Hello all,

So it dawned on me to think about reps in another manner. Total reps. This is just me thinking. But when I try to go for max loads, I usually do sets of 1-3. But what about total reps? What if I did 10 really heavy singles. Or what about the question about “how many reps to build hypertrophy?” Is there a difference between doing 30 reps, 3 sets of ten at 75% of max and doing 10 sets of 30 @ 90% of max? The only guess I have, is that the 10 sets of 3 is more difficult since, it is the same volume in terms of total reps, but higher intensity. I need to do more research, but it seems reps are a continuum. It doesn’t seem like it is just about reps/sets/total reps but a combination of all of those things.

Going to do some research and get some more clarity on this. And of course if you have any interesting articles that are related. please share.

That is all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

