High Bar Squat VS Low Bar Squat: Which is better? Revisited

Posted: March 13, 2014 in My Take
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello All,

So a few weeks back I wrote about the High Bar vs Low bar squat. Since then I have realized I forgot to mention a very important aspect that can determine whether or not a person can high bar squat or low bar squat. And that is a persons individual anatomy. Apparently that, and ankle dorsiflexion are some of the most important things in regards to perform the squat correctly and doing your best to avoid low back flexion or “butt wink”.

Here are is an article and video regarding that topic.
http://bretcontreras.com/why-people-must-squat-differently/
http://themovementfix.com/the-best-kept-secret-why-people-have-to-squat-differently/

So for me, the best thing I did was go to the high bar squat. It still a work in progress. I definitely feel less stress on the low back. My original thought that mobility and flexibility determine if a person can high bar squat is not true. Or maybe partially true.

Here is my original post. https://strengthstrategy.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/high-bar-squat-vs-low-bar-squat-which-is-better/

That is all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

