Hello All,

So I have been looking for routines, specifically split routines that are geared towards general muscle building and strength training and I came across this guy named Steve Shaw. Here is his youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYl0C0GVHVJbUJUyJkzj5XQ

In his channel there are a lot of useful ideas and information with regard to training. Steve also has a lot of cool op-ed videos where he gives a quick review of popular routines, fads and things of that sort. One of his videos that caught my attention in particular was what Steve calls the “Rep Goal System”. In the past I have used routines that revolved around performing a fixed number of reps per set. Let me use 5×5 as an example. Once you hit the 5 reps with the weight, you stop and rest, then repeat for another 4 sets. The Rep Goal System has a slight deviation. Instead of having a goal of reps for each individual set (i.e 5×5) you have a goal to reach a total number of reps across a number of sets. I will compare a typical 5×5 workout and another workout using the “Rep Goal System.”

Typical 5×5 for the Bench
45 x 5
75 x 5
95 x 5
115 x 5,5,5,5,5 (5 sets of 5) 25 total reps

Using the Rep Goal System with 25 Reps over 4 sets
45 x 5
75 x 5
95 x 5
115 x 8,8,6,6 (28 total reps)

The main difference between the two examples above  is with the “Rep Goal System” according to Steve Shaw, you go for as many reps as possible until you are about 1-2 reps away from failure for each set. He also mentions to stop when you feel your form goes to crap. You do this for each set. At the end of the work sets you add up all of the reps. If you surpassed your Rep Goal then the next workout you increase the weight. Pretty Straight forward instructions. Steve does a better job explaining it in his video, which I have put below.

This idea has actually changed what I have thought about rep ranges and percentages. Well, it at least has me thinking about it more. For my next 6 week cycle, I will definitely be using this and giving it a shot. I love the idea of going for as many reps as possible for each set. I feel it will keep the intensity up throughout a workout session. But I won’t know for sure until I try it.

Below is the video from Steve Shaw’s youtube channel explain the “Rep Goal System.”

That is all! 🙂

Comments
  1. Dennis Cohen says:

    How much time should I rest between sets. If I’m doing three sets after first set how long and After my third set before I move on how long
    Thanks
    Dennis

    • That all depends on a few factors. depends on how many reps a person plans to work with each set, and how difficult each set will be. Currently I am doing 4-6 total sets of 10 or more reps for the bench press and I rest about 60-90 seconds. But when I do heavy sets of lets say 6 reps, I would take 2-5 minutes. It is really relative to the individual and what they plan to do. I hope that answers your questions.

Leave a Reply

