Training for Health and Hiking

Posted: August 21, 2014 in My Take
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello All,

If you saw my last post, I went hiking recently with my fiance. I feel in love with it. It was fun, challenging and peaceful. I have decided to adjust my training for hiking. I will need to do some research but it will be done. Me and Zoila (fiance) have also decided to hike the Appalachian trail throughout our life time.

I will be doing strength training 2 times a week. Light weight training and calisthenics 2 times a week. And walking, 3-4 times a week. I will do it when I have time. Ideally this will be the schedule. Similar to something I did before.

Day 1 Strength Training
Day 2 Calisthenics + Conditioning
Day 3 Light Strength Training + Conditioning
Day 4 REST
Day 5 Strength Training
Day 6 Calisthenics + Conditioning
Day 7 REST

Strength training days will include upper body and lower body barbell compound lifts.  Calisthenics/Conditioning days will include Sit Ups, Dips, Chin Ups plus walking on an incline or stair master.  Light Strength training/condition will include dumbbell press, lat pull downs, curls, leg curls, calf raises and fore arm roller followed by some light jump rope.

That is all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

